AAMI barrier standards

Let our colors guide you to superior protection

AAMI Critical Zones

Example of a surgical gown intended for surgical applications
Example of a surgical drape

Selecting the right surgical gown for your procedure has just become easier with Cardinal Health's color-coding system. Convertors® surgical gowns have color-coded packaging to reflect the gown's classification level according to AAMI Standard PB70:2012 Liquid Barrier Performance of Protective Apparel (for a complete copy of this standard visit www.aami.org).

AAMI Levels

The AAMI Standard classifies surgical gowns into four categories based on their liquid barrier performance using a combination of industry standard tests. Level 1 is the lowest level of protection, while Level 4 is the highest level, offering impervious protection.

The entire front of a surgical gown (areas A, B and C), including the seam and other components, is required to provide a minimum level of barrier protection (Level 1). Since the back of the gown (area D), intended for surgical applications, is expected to stay dry, there is no liquid barrier performance requirements for that area. The critical zones of a surgical gown (areas A and B) can be constructed to provide increased protection (Level 2, 3 and 4). The classification of the entire surgical gown is based on the lowest level of protection with the critical zone.

Because of variation in patient size, patient positioning and drape technique, as well as the possible expansion of the surgical site or field during the procedures, the entire drape (areas A and B) is required to meet at least the minimum level of barrier performance (Level 1). The critical zone of a surgical drape is comprised of area A.